Huatulco, Mexico VE3IPS/XE3 – A Radio Odyssey

I had a blast operating QRP in Huatulco, Mexico

Contacts were made on 11m, 20m and D-Star using the DV Dongle off a tablet

No local ham repeaters and there was the usual hotel, marine, cruiseship chatter

Many of the LPU radios are Kenwoods

I used the MFJ-1820T and Norcal Doublet with a T1 tuner

CB still rules down here

I heard Marty VE3MR of Electrosonic operating  as P49MR in his Aruba home everyday on 18.160 but no luck busting through the pile ups with 5 watts on the beach

IMG_4651

Running the Norcal Doublet as a longwire over the palm tree. I used a water bottle as a launcher. Security staff was looking at it one morning with a puzzled look

IMG_4653

My favourite cabbie had a Cobra under the dash and his CB antenna was front mounted on a 45 degree angle. I suggested he apply for his International 11m number to be #016110

IMG_4658

The real Mezcal

IMG_4659

Corner bars everywhere in town

IMG_4661

Many Bugs

IMG_4663

Another CB . looks like a Realistic 5/8 base

IMG_4664

 

Calling Card friendly. I tried calling into Allstars but the number kept ringing fast busy on the Asterisk

IMG_4668IMG_4670

Local Military running Shotgun

IMG_4674

Jammers for Jesus

IMG_4678

Another CBer

IMG_4684

No chance for Islands on the Air

IMG_4698

UFO landing point identified

IMG_4699

Local Taxi stand using RG6 coax on a very old Midland Antenna

IMG_4700IMG_4702

Local Marina set up will for Marine Traffic

IMG_4704IMG_4705

Country Wide Tetra Radio Tower

IMG_4706

We took Motorbikes up into the hills and found the Naval Military Base

IMG_4707IMG_4708IMG_4720

Abandoned Lighthouse with no NDB or working lights

IMG_4721IMG_4730

These kids took me for $10 US. That is a weeks wages for the locals plus they enjoyed the ice creams so it was the best $20 ever spent. They are CHESS sharks – Beware

IMG_4732

3 Wheeler mobile or Vintage Pick Up

IMG_4739

Taxi stand at Cruise Ship Terminal with a similar antenna set up

IMG_4742IMG_4744IMG_4746IMG_4771

The wind knocked these Ubiquity W-LAN antennas off axis so I had poor wifi into the room and the beach so management had me work with Juan to move them. I had to use my WiFi analyzer on my cell phone to help. The 3 reboot approach didnt work on the server and it really was an antenna pointing issue. Its really a point to point LAN set up

IMG_4780IMG_4781IMG_4791

Can we move this 3 inches over Juan?

IMG_4792

Bartender understands the worm brings bigger tips!! I think from what I recall I had 5 of these worms

 

Leave a Reply

