Basic Q Signals for Radio Amateurs

 

QRM     Is my transmission being interfered with? Your transmission is being interfered
QRN     Are you troubled by static? I am troubled by static ___ (1-5 as under QRM.)
QRO     Shall I increase power? Increase power.
QRP     Shall I decrease power? Decrease power.
QRQ     Shall I send faster? Send faster (___ WPM.)
QRS     Shall I send more slowly? Send more slowly (___ WPM.)
QRT     Shall I stop sending? Stop sending. also “I am shutting down a station”
QRU     Have you anything for me? I have nothing for you.
QRV     Are you ready? I am ready.
QRX     When will you call me again? I will call you again at ___ hours.
QRZ     Who is calling me? You are being called by ___.
QSB     Are my signals fading? Your signals are fading.
QSL     Can you acknowledge receipt? I am acknowledging receipt.
QSP     Will you relay to ___? I will relay to ___.
QSV     Shall I send a series of Vs on this frequency? Send a series of Vs on this frequency.
QSY     Shall I change to another frequency? Change to another frequency.
QTC     How many messages have you to send? I have ___ messages for you.
QTH     What is your location? My location is ___.
QUA     Have you news of ___? I have news of ___.
Note: The Q signals take the form of a question when followed by a question mark

Leave a Reply

