Packtenna does NVIS Oct 16, 2016

The Peel Amateur radio club held a NVIS testing event

I had a super busy day but I tosssed my FT817 non ND (2001) Go bag in the car on the way to buy groceries and voila  I made some contacts by laying out the Packtenna in a NVIS configuration. It was horizontal about 6 feet off the ground. I just tossed it into some trees and rolled it into the car window

Operation was in Vaughan, Ontario. As people walked by my car they stooped down to not hit my antenna . Thanks dog walkers.

I was on the air in 3 minutes and knocked out a few VE3 contacts to confrim “in the log” and participated in the event

All contacts were within 50 miles

2 comments

  1. Andrew VK1AD · December 18

    Interesting results from the antenna John. In VK there are plenty of sceptics when you mention the EFHW or similar design antennas. I’m going to make my own and compare it against an Inverted V dipole and an EFHW combined with an impedance match L/C circuit. Should be a good experiment.

    Like

  2. ve3ips · December 18

    These NVIS antennas Andrew do indeed work when installed 5 to 15 feet off the ground. The IVDP antenna provides more of an omni directional pattern and would also need to be used at the low height. Abu JP1QEC who is also active in SOTA activities prefers an antenna that has a low radiation angle to work DX. He uses the IVDP and an antenna that is a 2 element vertical beam that he has created. The NVIS would be the wrong choice for mountain topping unless you are working 40 meters and looking for contacts within a few hundred miles. My experiments show 40 meters to be the best band for NVIS activity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

